top of page


Blaq Diamond and MFR Souls went head-to-head as the nominees for Record of the Year were announced tonight on SABC1, earning two nominations respectively. Blaq Diamond were nodded for their monster hits Love Letter and Summer YoMuthi, and MFR Souls booked their place with their runaway hits Amanikiniki featuring Major League DJz, Kamo Mphela and Bontle Smith and Love You Tonight featuring Kabza De Small, DJ Maphorisa and Sha Sha. Girl power flexed its muscle on this year’s list. Kelly Khumalo’s anthemic hit Empini earned her a place in the top 20. Sha Sha’s Tender Love featuring DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small also cracked the list. Simmy sits pretty with a nod for Ngihamba Nawe featuring Sino Msolo. Elaine walked away with a nomination for You’re The One as did Miss Pru for Price To Pay featuring Blaq Diamond and Malome Vector. Shekhinah shines with Fixate featuring Bey T while newcomer Azana enjoys a good run with her single Your Love. Master KG has secured a spot for himself on the prestigious list with his global hit Jerusalema featuring Nomcebo. Also making his presence felt is the Amapiano powerhouse Kabza De Small who already has six nominations for SAMA27. He increases his tally with eMcimbini featuring DJ Maphorisa. uWrongo by Prince Kaybee, Black Motion, Shimza and Ami Faku is also in the running for Record of the Year, as well as Sun-El Musician’s uBomi Abumanga featuring Msaki.

Leading the nods in the Music Video of the Year front is rapper Nasty C with two nominations for There They Go and Eazy. It’s a mixed bag of fortunes in the Music Video of the Year category. Lorch by DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small featuring Semi Tee, Miano & Kammu Dee, a song dedicated to a South African match winner, Thembinkosi Lorch of Orlando Pirates, goes up against the international anthem Jerusalema by Master KG featuring Nomcebo. Already nodded for Record of the Year and making an appearance on the Music Video of the Year list are the likes of Amanikiniki by MFR Souls featuring Major League DJz, Kamo Mphela and Bontle Smith; uWrongo by Prince Kaybee featuring Black Motion, Shimza and Ami Faku; Molo by Aubrey Qwana; Your Love by Azana; and You’re The One by Elaine. Also staking their claim to the throne are Okokoko by Sphectacula and DJ Naves featuring Thebe and Unathi; Njandini by Kwesta; Ke Star by Focalistic featuring Vigro Deep; Dumelang by Malome Vector featuring Blaq Diamond; and Paris by Shane Eagle featuring Nasty C. The winners of Record of the Year and Music Video of the Year are determined by a public vote. RiSA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi said: “We applaud the nominees in the Record of The Year and Music Video of The Year categories. This is an incredible line up of artists who have worked hard to earn their nominations. They are a reflection of what the nation embraced and moved to in the past year. We wish them well and urge the fans and supporters of the SAMA to vote for their favourite.” To vote for your favourite nominee please follow the instructions below

1. Dial *120*49495# and select the number which corresponds with your nominee of choice 2. You will be charged R1-50 per minute 3. Terms and conditions apply ( )


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Recent Posts
bottom of page