top of page


DBN Gogo, Nomfundo Moh and Pabi Cooper lead the pack with three nominations each for the inaugural Basadi in Music Awards.

The nominees, voted for by the public, were announced at an intimate virtual event held at Kaya959 studios in Johannesburg this afternoon celebrating girl power in music. Also announced was the prestigious CEO’s Mosadi in Business Achievement Award, the honour will be bestowed on a select few in recognition of their successes in business.

DBN Gogo is up for Artist of the Year, DJ of the Year and Song of the Year for Bambelela; while Pabi Cooper earned nods in SAMPRA Amapiano Artist of the Year, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year for Banyana ke Bafana. Nomfundo Moh is nominated in Kaya959 Afropop Artist of the Year, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year for Phakade Lami.

Sitting with two nominations, Makhadzi is in the running for Artist of the Year and Song of the Year for Ghanama, so is Lerato Kganyago in the DJ of the Year and Entertainment Radio Presenter categories. She will also be honoured with the CEO’s Mosadi in Business Achievement Award.

Simmy also walked away with two nominations for Artist of the Year and Sofnfree Dance Artist of the Year while Chairo is nodded in Gospel Artist of the Year and Newcomer of the Year categories. Skye Wanda is up for the Songwriter of the Year and Kaya959 Afropop Artist of the Year and Jamie Lee Sexton is nominated in the Pop Artist of the Year and Songwriter of the Year categories.

DJ Zinhle is in the running for DJ of the Year category and will receive the CEO’s Mosadi in Business Achievement Award.

The categories for Kontemporêre Kunstenaar van die Jaar, Music Video Director of the Year, Gqom Artist of the Year and Kwaito Artist of the Year were abandoned because they did not receive any votes.

Hloni Modise, CEO and founder of Basadi in Music Awards commented: “We are proud of the calibre of nominees for the first ever Basadi in Music Awards. We send our congratulations and best wishes to our nominees. These awards have put power in the hands of the fan, the supporter and lover of South African music. We owe a debt of gratitude to the voters who were so keen an enthusiastic to vote their favourites in. We call on them again to vote for the winners who will walk away with the prestigious trophies of Basadi in Music Awards. A note of appreciation also goes out to Kaya959 who hosted us today and all the generous sponsors of Basadi in Music Awards.”

To vote for your favourite nominee; SMS the category code and nominee name to 49960. Each SMS is at a cost of R2 with no limit to the number of times the public can vote for their favourites. Closing date 31 July 2022 Midnight. Terms and conditions apply.

See the complete list of nominees below.

SAMPRA Amapiano Artist of the year


DJ Fonzi

Kamo Mphela


Pabi Cooper

Kaya959 Afropop artist of the year

Phumla Music


Amanda Black

Nomfundo Moh

Skye Wanda

SofnFree Dance artist of the year

Lady X

Lalova Fox


Rethabile Khumalo


Gospel artist of the year

Bathabile Skhosana



Puleng March


Newcomer of year


Buhle Womculo

Millie Ngwalangwala



Rap/Hiphop artist of the year


Gigi Lamayne


Nadia Nakai


Songwriter of the year



Jamie Lee Sexton


Skye Wanda

Traditional artist of the year

Basetsana Ba Setso

Candy Tsamandebele

Mphoroku Moritini


Zipho Radebe

Pop artist of the year

Jamie Lee Sexton

Jacky Carpede

Holly Rey



AC Wines Jazz artist of the year

Zodwa Mabena

Linda Tshabalala

Shannon Mowday

Thembelihle Dunjana

Zoe Modiga

Artist of the year


Pabi Cooper

DBN Gogo

Holly Rey


Nomfundo moh


DJ of the year

DJ Zinhle

DBN Gogo

Lamiez Holworthy

Lerato Kganyago

Lesego M

Social Media Influencer of the year

Bad Milk

Khanyisa Patricia


Mihlali Ndamase

Yaya Mavundla

Entertainment Radio Producer of the year Name of Show

Hlengiwe Khumalo The Glenzito Super drive

Nthabiseng Mamabolo better together

Nthabiseng Molapo Jozi FM Local Top 20

Phila Tyekana The Touch Down

Prudence Mathebula The Midday Link up

Entertainment Radio Presenter of the year Name of Show

Anele Mdoda Anele and the Club (947)

Jabulile Vilakazi Ghetto Sound Zone (SK FM)

Lebo Jojo Mokoena Opulent Life (Opulence Radio)

Lerato Kganyago The Midday Link up (Metro FM)

Minenhle Masondo Behind the curtain (Imvula FM)

Music TV Show Presenter Name of show

Anele Zondo Massive Music

Helicopter Ndlovu Ugubhulwami

Lalla Hirayama Massive Music

Lamiez Holworthy Live Amp

Lootlove Mzanzi Magic Music Specials

Entertainment Journalist of the year Name of publication

Amanda Maliba Sowetan

Doreen Molefe Daily Sun

Kedibone Modise The Star

Patience Bambalele Sowetan

Qhama Dayile Drum Magazine

Song of the year Song

Pabi Cooper Banyana ke bafana (Pabi Cooper, Focalistic & Ch'cco feat LuuDadeejay & Nobantu)

DBN Gogo Bambelela (DBN Gogo & Felo Lee Tee feat Pabi Cooper & Young Stunna)

Makhadzi Ghanama (Makhadzi feat prince Benza)

Nomfundo Moh Phakade lami (Nomfundo Moh feat Sha Sha & Ami Faku)

Shekhinah Questions

Stylist of the year

Boitumelo Katali

Mbalenhle Pokwane

Thobeka Mbane

Tsakane Ndlovu

Tshiamo Modisane

Recipients of the CEO’s Mosadi In Business Achievement Award

Dineo Ranaka Founder of Luvdr beauty

DJ Zinhle Founder of Era by DJ Zinhle, Hair Majesty & CEO at Boulevard Rose

Lerato Kganyago Founder of Flutter By LKG & CEO of OTAREL


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Recent Posts
bottom of page