top of page


The first annual Basadi in Music Awards (BIMAs) proved to be a sensational affair in honour of the contribution of women in the music industry. Held on 15 October 2022 at the Gallagher Convention Centre, the BIMAs featured exhilarating performances and moving acceptance speeches.

Broadcasters and DJs Lamiez Holworthy and Lerato Kganyago proved to be the night’s biggest winners scooping two award a piece. Holworthy walked away with the DJ of the Year and Music TV Presenter of the Year accolades while Kganyago received the Entertainment Radio Presenter of the Year and was presented the Mosadi in Business Achievement Award alongside DJ Zinhle and Dineo Ranaka.

The evening was anchored by vivacious duo Anele “Ney the Bae” Zondo and Nomuzi “Moozlie” Mabena who kept the audiences engaged and on their toes with just the right amount of sass. They also introduced performers like Makhadzi who delivered an electrifying performance and was named Artist of the Year. Other performers included Gospel Artist of the Year nominee Mmatema, Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year nominee Nadia Nakai, Relo of Skwatta Kamp fame and KB Motsilanyane.

Other notable winners include Boohle who won Sampra Amapiano Artist of the Year, Phumla Music who won Kaya959 Afropop Artist of the year, Lizwi who scooped the Sofnfree Dance Artist of the Year and Zodwa Mabena who triumphed in the AC Wines Jazz Artist of the Year. The SAMRO Songwriter of the Year was presented to Skye Wanda while Amanda Maliba took home Entertainment Journalist of the Year and Prudence Mathebula won the Radio Producer of the Year gong.

Mam’ Abigail Kubeka and Mam’ Yvonne Chaka Chaka were presented Lifetime Achievement awards in honour of their contribution to genres and the music industry overall. These icons were celebrated for remarkably breaking through ceilings and leaving an impactful legacy.

BIMA CEO Hloni Modise-Matau: “The first iteration of the Basadi in Music Awards was incredible to behold. It was a phenomenal evening of women celebrating the contribution that has been made by other women. We are proud of our hosts MOOZLIE and Anele "Ney the Bae" Zondo who were fantastic on stage equally, Tshiamo and Mandz who were on red carpet and backstage duty respectively sizzled. We are also honoured to have presented awards to all our recipients last night and of course we are so grateful to the performers and guest presenters who brought magic to the inaugural BIMA stage. It was truly an extraordinary experience, and we are looking forward to start planning the second instalment of Basadi In Music Awards. #BIMA2023.”

The complete list of nominees with winners in bold:


DJ Fonzi

Kamo Mphela


Pabi Cooper

Kaya959 Afropop Artist of the year

Phumla Music


Amanda Black

Nomfundo Moh

Skye Wanda

SofnFree Dance artist of the year


Lady X

Lalova Fox

Rethabile Khumalo


Gospel Artist of the year

Bathabile Skhosana



Puleng March


Newcomer of the year



Buhle Womculo

Millie Ngwalangwala


Rap/Hiphop Artist of the year

Gigi Lamayne



Nadia Nakai


SAMRO Songwriter of the year

Skye Wanda



Jamie Lee Sexton


Traditional Artist of the year

Basetsana Ba Setso

Candy Tsamandebele

Mphoroku Moritini


Zipho Radebe

Pop Artist of the year

Holly Rey

Jamie Lee Sexton

Jacky Carpede



AC Wines Jazz Artist of the year

Zodwa Mabena

Linda Tshabalala

Shannon Mowday

Thembelihle Dunjana

Zoe Modiga

Artist of the year



Pabi Cooper

DBN Gogo

Holly Rey

Nomfundo moh


DJ of the year

Lamiez Holworthy

DJ Zinhle

DBN Gogo

Lerato Kganyago

Lesego M

Social Media Influencer of the year

Khanyisa Patricia Jaceni

Bad Milk


Mihlali Ndamase

Yaya Mavundla

Entertainment Radio Producer of the year

Prudence Mathebula of The Midday Link Up

Hlengiwe Khumalo of The Glenzito Super drive

Nthabiseng Mamabolo of Better Together

Nthabiseng Molapo of Jozi FM Local Top 20

Phila Tyekana of The Touch Down

Entertainment Radio Presenter of the year

Lerato Kganyago of The Midday Link up (Metro FM)

Anele Mdoda of Anele and the Club (947)

Jabulile Vilakazi of Ghetto Sound Zone (SK FM)

Lebo Jojo Mokoena of Opulent Life (Opulence Radio)

Minenhle Masondo of Behind The Curtain (Imvula FM)

Music TV Show Presenter

Lamiez Holworthy of Live Amp

Anele Zondo of Massive Music

Helicopter Ndlovu of Ugubhulwami

Lalla Hirayama of Massive Music

Lootlove of Mzanzi Magic Music Specials

Entertainment Journalist of the year

Amanda Maliba of Sowetan

Doreen Molefe of Daily Sun

Kedibone Modise of The Star

Patience Bambalele of Sowetan

Qhama Dayile of Drum Magazine

Song of the year

Banyana ke Bafana (Pabi Cooper, Focalistic & Ch'cco feat LuuDadeejay & Nobantu Vilakazi)

Bambelela (DBN Gogo & Felo Lee Tee feat Pabi Cooper & Young Stunna)

Ghanama (Makhadzi feat prince Benza)

Phakade Lami (Nomfundo Moh feat Sha Sha & Ami Faku)

Questions (Shekhinah)

Stylist of the year

Boitumelo Katali

Mbalenhle Pokwane

Thobeka Mbane

Tsakane Ndlovu

Tshiamo Modisane

SAMPRA Lifetime Achievement award

Abigail Kubeka

Yvonne Chaka Chaka

CEO Mosadi in Business Achievement Award

Dineo Ranaka Founder of Luvdr beauty

DJ Zinhle Founder of Era by DJ Zinhle, Hair Majesty & CEO at Boulevard Rose

Lerato Kganyago Founder of Flutter By LKG & CEO of OTAREL

Joburg Tourism Company Humanitarian Award

Cynthia Dinalane of Tshegofatso rona welfare and community organisation

SAMPRA Highest Airplay

Shekhinah Questions

CAPPASSO Most Streamed Song

Nomcebo Zikode – Xola Moya Wami

CEO Trailblazer Award

Zanele Mbokazi


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Recent Posts
bottom of page