BELLA SHMURDA CHATS TO LOOTLOVE ON AFRICA NOW RADIO


Nigerian hitmaker Bella Shmurda joins LootLove via FaceTime on Apple Music 1 to talk about his latest track, “Far Away.” He also discusses how his new EP, High Tension 2.0, reflects his journey of survival, how Nigeria’s street sounds have evolved and bloomed—and pays homage to those artists who have paved the way.


Bella Shmurda on what High Tension 2.0 represents

High Tension 2.0,’ I feel it's like me. It's very intentional like me. I'm intentional. That's what I call myself. Against all odds, you're still surviving. Against all against you could strike, you could penetrate. Against all odds you could be the light. And that's Bella Shmurda. And that's what High Tension 2.0 is representing.


Bella Shmurda on bringing through next generation talent such as Seyi Vibez

LootLove: You just mentioned Olamide who helped open some doors for you. You guys obviously have a phenomenal relationship. Now, if you had to do the same for another artist who's on the rise right now, who would you like to do the very same thing that Olamide did for you?


Bella Shmurda: Shout out to Olamide Baddo first of all. Right now, well I have one of those good guys, I have Seyi Vibez. Shout out to Seyi Vibez he's a good one. So I think if I would do any I will do for people I know.


Bella Shmurda on why street sounds are so important in Lagos

It's good when you represent the streets. It's something that is major over here. And street sound over the years has evolved. It has developed. Shout-out to the likes of Olamide Baddo, Wizkid, and Davido. Street music now is a major thing in Nigeria. You have to majorly touch the street. It's very important because people who are really living in this parts of the life really need that sound to stay alive.

Tune in and listen to the full episode this Sunday, July 11th at 2p Lagos/London / 3p Johannesburg/Paris / 6a LA / 9a NYC on Apple Music 1 at apple.co/_AfricaNow.

Recent Posts